Thanksgiving 2011

Treasured time turning sour.  Cooking
hampered by confusing cupboards
and missing lids.
No cranberries and no yams.  I
know it’s about family and forgiveness; not
stressing over short tempers.  I should be
grateful for another holiday with mom
instead of angry with dad’s
vicious verbal
insults hurled in frustration.  His fear is
not managed well so I’m
going for a walk.

This form is a long line acrostic (the first letters of each line spell the subject).  Hopefully, you didn’t notice the acrostic when you read the poem.  The prompt came from Margo.  I have also linked in to the Poets Rally.

And many thanks to the Poets Rally for this award.

24 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2011

  1. Acrostics are elusive to me … and yours was well hidden until you mentioned it … I have a love/hate relationship with holidays … this shows my "hate them" side. I can relate … only my parents did not remain together — the egg shells were always in the backgrouns!Nicely done!

  2. Now you know why I walk so much- I have a mother like that. I have found walking the cure to most ill feelings. In fact I took up walking last January as well as small stones. They seem to go hand and hand for me. I won't say I hope you had a happy Thanksgiving. I am just glad you survived. I need to go look at Margo's prompt! And no I did not notice.

  3. Nicely done! I too find it hard to stomach all the drama whenever I spend the holidays with my family. My poor mother does her absolute best and really does outdo herself every time, but she just can't live up to my stepfather's impossibly high expectations. He's like an angry Clark W. Griswold.

  4. notice that you won the perfect poet award for poets rally week 57, welcome take it,join us any time when you are free.outstanding poetry along the way, truly enjoyed your lasting support.keep rocking.smiles.xoxox

Leave a comment