Rancho Ynecita

When I was 15
   My father poked the oak fire with a stick
   And we ate hot spicy kolbasz
   Spitting fat and juice from the fire.

When I was 20
   I stayed a week
   And jogged in the evenings
   Jumping over the black hairy tarantulas
   Marching across the road, slow and deliberate,
   Like the ache in my heart.

When I was 50
   We walked the steep dry hills
   Through brown brambles and weeds
   Past broken bits of fence and rusting metal stakes
   Piled beneath overgrown oaks.

You wandered further
   While I waited in the car
   Pulling stickers out of my socks.
   Pulling stickers from my mind and memory.

22 thoughts on “Rancho Ynecita

  1. Annette, this poem is wonderful. I love the structure and will work up a prompt around it for some future time. I like the short stanzas and the three different time periods with a conclusion. But most of all I love the poem for making my emotions respond. Each stanza evokes a distinct emotion. Thank you for this.

  2. Such memories! This leaves me with a powerful, but mixed feeling. I think one of the strengths of this poem is the structure of the stanzas drawing memory, and you haven't over complicated it, which leaves each of us free to explore our own memories. This makes the poem powerfully individual. I bet the emotions it invokes are likewise unique to each person.

  3. I popped over to see what writing you have been doing. And there is your wonderful Rancho Ynecita. I read it the other day and must have forgotten to say how wonderful it is. I like how it feels I am on well marked path.

  4. I have been reading your poetry you are an amazing talented poet. I must say this one just tugged at my heart I am not sure why I just had to tell you. Keep writing you truly have a gift. B

Leave a Reply

