Ice

There is something clean
about ice; frosty shaved bits
clinging to windows; the way
clean clear sheets of ice
break into shards when I hit
the water trough with my boot
heel or a hammer.
Puddles ripple paper thin
opaque crackling underfoot.
Steam rises smokey
vapor where the sun reaches
over trees to kiss black roof tiles.
It ventures inside
to our bedroom where icy
crisp sheets send chills up my bare
body.  You melt me.

Prompts: Margo has given two prompts on writing about winter.  She asks us to think or look at an image of winter and use that as a springboard.  I pictured morning chores in winter on our small ranch.  I used the choka form, given as a prompt at Poetic Bloomings.  The form is not rhymed and uses a repeating syllable count of 5-7-7-5-7-7-5.  I am also going to link this poem to dVerse’s Poetry Pub.

16 thoughts on “Ice

  1. Oh, very nice, Annette. I always like your descriptions. You are particularly good at setting a scene. So, I was shaken out of the whole thing with the unexpected last sentence. Brava 🙂 Love it.

  2. Just exquisite. I saw on your “About” page you enjoy visiting small villages in France. The most beautiful ice storm I saw was when I lived in Lons-le-Saulnier in the Jura back in the early 70’s. You just painted it in words.

  3. So beautiful. I especially like:

    Puddles ripple paper thin
    opaque crackling underfoot.
    Steam rises smokey
    vapor where the sun reaches
    over trees to kiss black roof tiles

  4. I like the form, simple enough and yet gives the poem a nice sense of lilt… the ice descriptions reminded me of where I grew up on the prairies.

  5. This is one of those WoW poems – brilliantly evocative, and then that lovely last line…
    I sidestepped Margo’s winter prompt as we were in the middle of our one week of summer, and I didn’t even want to think about it ending.

  6. What I loved most about this poem is your quite literal start, the familiar tasks, the booting of icicles, the snow… and then finally, the romantic end after the day’s work, “You melt me,” aah. So sweetly sensual! Thanks for stopping by my blog, too. Peace, Amy

Leave a Reply

