The Face of my Father

I have
a staircase nose
narrow
steep
and long
with a gypsy hook.

My eyes
gold flecked emerald
are rimmed
with inky lashes
that brushed my swim goggles
like crushed
spider legs.

The creases
at the corners
of my lips and eyes
are serious
etched
with the knife
of a life
spent pondering
and perfecting
instead of laughing.

 

I used three prompts when I wrote this poem.  First up (from oldest prompt to most recent), I used Poetry Mixtape 21 prompt of K.I.S.S.  The goal was to write a three sentence (not lines) poem where the title has significance.  The second prompt is from WWP #108: Write a poem about your face.  The last prompt is Margo’s prompt to use images and to use line breaks as punctuation.

13 thoughts on “The Face of my Father

  1. I like the way the title gives the possibility of being literal, but becomes the speaker’s face; because of the title, we know that the speaker’s description of self is the father’s face. ‘crushed spider legs’ — that is what wet lashes look like!

  2. Powerfully done, the intermix of the two, how each characterization informs the other. Nice addition too, combining these prompts into one which addresses them all. Not only an excellent tack to take, but very skillfully done! Rereading however, I think the strongest aspect of this poem is simply and first, the words and phrases themselves – change the breaks and the poem rings as true and strong – that’s the core that makes it work, no matter much anything else. Thank you for sharing this poem.

    neil

    • Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment. I created images first and breaks later. I hadn’t thought about how strongly they would inform the poem regardless of structure. Thank you for pointing that bit out.

  3. You managed a pretty coherent final product for having worked with so many prompts. A clear mental picture emerged after reading, especially those beginning lines.

  4. Amazing how we see ourselves in another person, such as a mother or father. I, too, see so much of myself in my father. I really like this piece. Commenting from Poetry Pantry.

Leave a Reply

