OBL

Shampoo mingled with
  a rush of relief
    as I listened to the news;
Brett stood at the shower door
  his blue eyes
    bright with tears.
Raw grief followed relief.
A day of tumbling tears –
  remembering the pain
    and the fear
       and the loss.
Firemen and police
  climbing the stairs
    into smoke, fire
       death.
My policeman husband
  would have willingly gone.
I can’t imagine.
But I do.

 This poem has been submitted to the Thursday Poet’s Rally

And it won an award!  From the Promising Poets’ Poetry Cafe Wow!!  Thanks!   And, check out my nomination for the award, JP’s Poetry.

38 thoughts on “OBL

  1. nicely written. It must be a hard to thing for one to imagine. my thursday post was herehttp://blackswanpoetry.wordpress.com/2011/05/05/poem-can%e2%80%99t-believe-it%e2%80%99s-you/

  2. I'm glad you mentioned your poem because I completely forgot to come back and read it. All I can say is I'm glad I did and wow! You deserved the award. Very well done.

  3. A fine piece of writing. I can't imagine being personally involved in such, and do admire the undermentioned bravery of the wives.

Leave a Reply

