100 Word Challenge: Distance

It was February and I was at a conference near Aspen.  My meetings were over and the weekend was upon us.  Cold, clean snow was drifting down and collecting in the corners of my hotel room balcony.  The Colorado Rockies framed the view from my room.  The kids called to me from the window, begging to be outside.  They wanted to build a snowman and to make snow angels.  They pulled and tugged but I was immobile; curled on the couch holding tight to hope and despair; trying to protect my heart from the distance between promises kept and broken.

To read more entries in the 100 Word Challenge click here.

8 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge: Distance

  1. That last line is great! The whole thing is descriptive, but "trying to protect my heart from the distance between promises kept and broken." tugs at MY heart.

Leave a Reply

